Note: As of November 30th, 2012, the Robert Wood Johnson Physician Faculty Scholars program has closed.

Robert Wood Johnson Physician Faculty Scholars
about the program
Becoming a Scholar
Meet the Alumni
National Advisory Committee
National Program Office
Program News
Frequently Asked Questions
About RWJF

Program News

Please see our Summer 2012 newsletter for information about the latest awards and publications of the Scholars and National Advisory Committee.

Newsletter Archives:

Spring 2012Winter 2012

Fall 2011
Summer 2011
Spring 2011
Winter 2011

Fall 2010
Summer 2010
Spring 2010
Winter 2010

Fall 2009
Summer 2009
Spring 2009
Winter 2009

Fall 2008
Summer 2008
Spring 2008
Spring 2007

Conference on Implementation Science
July 11-13, 2012
Stanford University

We were delighted to host a conference on Implementation Science for PFSP Scholars and alumni, from July 11-13, 2012 at Stanford University. 

The conference speakers included: PFSP National Advisory Committee members Steve Asch, M.D., Mary Goldstein, M.D., Ken Kizer, M.D., and Hal Sox, M.D. Other speakers are Stephen Bartels, M.D. (Dartmouth College), Thomas Bodenheimer, M.D. (UCSF), Carolyn Clancy, M.D. (AHRQ), Marshall Chin, M.D. (University of Chicago), Russell Glasgow, Ph.D. (National Cancer Institute), Julie Lowery, Ph.D. (University of Michigan), Brian Mittman, Ph.D. (VA Greater Los Angeles), Alex Sox-Harris, Ph.D. (Palo Alto VA), Kurt Stange, M.D. (Case Western Reserve University), Bryan Weiner, Ph.D. (University of North Carolina) and Ken Wells, M.D. (UCLA).

Access to the conference materials is limited to PFSP Scholars, alumni, National Advisory Committee members and speakers. Please enter your username and password after clicking on the link below.

Click here to access >

PFSP Commemorative Video

In this final year of the Physician Faculty Scholars Program, several special commemorative projects have been undertaken with the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to capture and celebrate the program's achievements and legacy. One of the projects is the production of a short video which features interviews with National Program Office staff, National Advisory Committee members, Scholars and alumni about the PFSP and what it has meant to them.

To view the video, click here >>

PFSP Alumni Appointed to Senior Leadership Roles

Several alumni of the Physician Faculty Scholars Program have recently been appointed to senior leadership roles.

Scott Braithwaite (Class of 2010) was elected to serve as President of the Society for Medical Decision Making (SMDM), the leading society devoted to improving the science behind health decisions, effective October 25, 2011. Braithwaite is Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine and Chief on the Section of Value and Comparative Effectiveness, New York University School of Medicine.

Aaron Caughey (Class of 2010) was appointed as Professor and Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Director, Center for Women’s Health at Oregon Health & Science University, in July 2010. Caughey was previously Assistant Professor in Residence, Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences, at the University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine.

Nirav Shah (Class of 2010) was appointed as Commissioner of the New York State Department of Health, effective January 2011. Shah was previously Assistant Professor of Medicine at the New York University School of Medic

They are the first alumni of the Physician Faculty Scholars Program to be appointed to such positions. We congratulate them on the achievements

RWJF Physician Faculty Scholars Program Expanded to Include a Selected Group of Veterans Affairs Health Services Research Scholars

We are pleased to announce the expansion of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Physician Faculty Scholars program to include a selected group of Veterans Affairs Health Services Research Scholars. Up to five such Scholars will be selected by the PFSP National Advisory Committee (now expanded by 5 VA-Liaison members) to participate in the Physician Faculty Scholars Program. They will be designated "VA Faculty Scholars in the RWJF PFSP". Except for the source of their funding (the VA) and the fact that they are supported for five years in their existing Program, there will be no differences between the groups. The first VA Scholars will be selected through this current application cycle, to begin July 1, 2009. Current first-year recipients of VA HSR&D Career Development Awards are eligible to apply.

This joint decision by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, PFSP and VA HSR&D leadership will leverage the resources of both programs focusing on similar research and share the same goal of supporting junior medical school faculty working in important areas.

Press Release: Veterans Affairs and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Collaborate to
Bolster Availability of Top Caliber Physician Researchers (7/25/08)

Photos of Recent Events

After events we post photos in our Photo Gallery. Please check back often to see the latest snapshots.

Click here to view photos


© Website design by ONEILLustration™. All rights reserved.

RWJF logo